Middle East – Here I Come!!!

Abu Dhabi International Triathlon, March 12th, 2011

I am in!  I really can’t believe it.  I had thought about it, talked about it, even asked many people to join me.  After countless denials, I decided to just go for it on my own and sign up; that is what I did yesterday afternoon.

After getting a quick taste of the United Arab Emirates last year during a brief overnight layover on my way back from India, I had wanted to go back and explore more of this intriguing country, and to me, there is no better way to make that happen than by finding a race and go.  I will have to admit; last night I woke up half way through the night and thought to myself, “What the hell are you doing going to the Middle East by yourself – the Blond American?”  But I quickly fell back into my slumber as I remembered how safe I felt when I was there.  It is a country to see in that area of the world where you can feel safe – even as a Blond American.  Excitement – that’s what I feel.  It will be an amazing adventure, one that will come with incredible stories and interesting people.  I feel the same type of excitement I felt when I signed up for Ironman Lanzarote, and not to mention, this is the perfect pre-IM race to do!

The distance: 1.8 mile swim, 120 miles of cycling, and followed by a 12.4 mile run.  I know it is an odd distance, but how amazing will it be swim in the Arabian Gulf, ride by the Sheikh Zayed Mosque and on the Formula One race track, then to finish your run by the Emirate’s Palace – what a way to see the world!  I can’t wait!

2 comments

  1. This is really awesome Kimberly! You are going to love it there! it’s such a cool city! HOpefully you’ll do some exploring in Dubai too.. how long will you be there?? You have to check out the massive malls and Ski Dubai… It’s gonna be a hot one 🙂 So prepare for that!- i know you’ll do amazing! how exciting!!

    -Laura

    1. I will be there for a week! I can’t wait to explore, since I didn’t get to do much the last time I passed through. I will be a really exciting race too. Part of the reason I am doing this one is that in May I have a really hot race to do, so I was hoping this might help me out with figuring out the best nutrition and to prep me to know what an Ironman is going to feel like in 90+ degree weather. -thanks

Leave a Reply

