Lather – Wash – Rinse – Repeat

Lather – Wash – Rinse – Repeat
If it isn’t broken then why try to fix it, right? 10 months ago I was living this exact same day in Lake Placid, New York and I had one of the best races of my life. So what I did was try to do exactly what I did the day before that race. A simple schedule of no driving and sticking around the apartment and race site. It is so different here with very few women. So few women; that there is only one changing tent! Yes ladies, I get to go in the same tent with a bunch of fit triathlete men…(this is where the smile comes in). On the other hand, it is a good thing I wear the same thing from start to finish.
8:30 a.m. – breakfast and emails
9:30 a.m. – hit the water for a lap of the course
10:30 a.m. – bike a 35k
12:00 a.m. – run an easy 8k
noon to 3:00 – off the feet, rested, got my gear labeled, made sure I had everything and ate lunch
3:30 p.m. – gear drop off, ran into a friend, we walked the transition
NOTE OF THE GEAR CHECK ** FIRST RACE I HAVE EVER DONE WHERE THEY DO A THOROUGH CHECK OF BREAKS WORKING ON EVER BIKE
5:00 p.m. – watched the Iron Kids Race
6:00 p.m – pizza and beer; that’s right, the non-drinker drank a beer. Following suit to last year, I drank a beer. I also slept really well the night before my race too!
7:30 p.m – in my place, turned on the music and packed my liquid lunch for tomorrow; while mixing my calories, I always mix for 6 hours, but decided in the end to mix 7 hours worth for the bike.
So uneventful…tomorrow. That will be the day with the story all is waiting for. Even I am excited to see how the story ends.
-someone needs to make temporary tattoos of the bike course profile. I saw a guy with a laminated one taped to the aerobars…and I was just gong to write it on my arm.
-the Euro’s go all out on their bikes, there are no jokes here!
-I noticed after transition was closed, there are two women who are not racing in my age group; and now there were 15.
I try to go over and over again some sort of strategy and I just can’t com up with one I am happy with. As of now; the swim will be brutal with only a few women in the field, so I think no matter how good I feel I will take a start toward the back. First half of the ride hold steady on the flats and hills, push the down and hold on for dear life up the final climb and descent. From there it is a non technical push for 40k with wind in your face typically. CAN’T WAIT FOR THE MARATHON at this point. 8:50 pace and should be able to easily hold as long as I don’t panic and go out too fast for the first half.
Swim: 1:20
Bike: 6:30-7:00
Run: 4:00
Just remember: It is going to be a long day
As scared as I am, I am as excited as a kid on Christmas waiting for his parents to get up he can open his presents.

After my morning swim and lunch for tomorrow is ready!

One comment

Leave a Reply

